MyD88 Signaling in T Cells Directs IgA-Mediate Control of Microbiota

MyD88 Signaling in T Cells Directs IgA-Mediated Control of the Microbiota to Promote Health

Jason L. Kubinak, Charisse Petersen, W. Zac Stephens, Ray Soto, Erin Bake, Ryan M. O’Connell, June L. Round.

Alterations to the commensal communities on our bodies can lead to disease, however the mechanisms by which the host can control and sculpt the […]

By |February 12th, 2015|Categories: 2015, 2015 Featured Papers, Featured Papers, February 2015, News|Tags: |0 Comments

Lori Rathje Named Executive Director of SMI

Lori Rathje, CAE, has been named Executive Director of the Society for Mucosal Immunology. Lori was previously Association Manager for SMI and served in that position since 2008.

“I am honored to serve as Executive Director of SMI, and to have the opportunity to work with such distinguished leaders to advance their mission,” Rathje said.

Lori […]

By |February 4th, 2015|Categories: 2015, News|Tags: |0 Comments

JSI 2014 Poster Winner Announced

Congratulations to Dr. Yoshiyuki Goto! He received the Japanese Society for Immunology 2014 poster prize sponsored by Nature Publishing Group and the Society for Mucosal Immunology. The poster prize consists of $200 and 2 year of membership to SMI!

Congratulations Yoshiyuki!

By |February 1st, 2015|Categories: 2015, News|Tags: |0 Comments

NPG Video: Immunology of the Lung

SMI Board of Councilor, Peter Openshaw, MD, PhD has collaborated with Nature Publishing Group to produce an animated video on lung immunology. Our lungs bring in vital oxygen and expel carbon dioxide. But they’re also an important immune site. They filter the air we breathe, repulsing invaders and repairing injury. But sometimes these powerful […]

By |December 19th, 2014|Categories: 2014, News|Tags: |0 Comments

External Programs Committee to Host Symposia at IMMUNOLOGY2015

SMI’s External Programs Committee organizes symposia at major immunology meetings around the world. Here is the program for SMI’s Symposium at IMMUNOLOGY2015™ in New Orleans on Sunday May 10, 2015.

Unique Lymphocyte Populations at Mucosal Surfaces

10:15-10:45 am: Control of Mucosal Th17 Cell Homeostasis – Ivaylo Ivanvo, PhD, Columbia University

10:45-11:15 am: DN TCRab+ IEL: Mix and […]

By |December 1st, 2014|Categories: 2014, News|Tags: |0 Comments

American Hospital Association (AHA) Responds to US Ebola Outbreak

In response to the Ebola public health emergency, the American Hospital Association (AHA) has provided an Ebola education package for CME providers. This package contains information that the American Hospital Association believes would be useful to healthcare providers and institutions right now.

In a press briefing on October 13, Tom Frieden, MD, MPH, Director, Centers […]

By |November 19th, 2014|Categories: 2014, News|Tags: |0 Comments

Precision Microbiome Restores Bile Acid Resistance to Clostridium Difficile

Precision Microbiome Reconstitution Restores Bile Acid Mediated Resistance to Clostridium Difficile

Buffie CG, Bucci V, Stein RR, McKenney PT, Ling L, Gobourne A, No D, Liu H, Kinnebrew M, Viale A, Littmann E, van den Brink MR, Jenq RR, Taur Y, Sander C, Cross J, Toussaint NC, Xavier JB, Pamer EG.

Nature. 2014 Oct 22. doi: […]

By |November 6th, 2014|Categories: 2014, 2014 Featured Papers, Featured Papers, News, November 2014|Tags: |0 Comments

An Update on SMI Member Ruslan Medzhitov

In 2012 the SMI Board nominated SMI member Ruslan Medzhitov for the inaugural Else Kröner Fresenius Immunology Award. A scientific jury organized by the International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS) considered 45 nominees and selected Dr. Medzhitov for his pioneering contributions to understanding innate immunity. A news story published in Lancet in 2013 tells […]

By |November 3rd, 2014|Categories: 2014, News|Tags: |0 Comments

EMIG 2014 Poster Prize Winners Announced

Congratulations to Isabella Dotti (IDIBAPS, Barcelona) and Lars Vereecke (Ghent University, Ghent). They each received a European Mucosal Immunology Group (EMIG) 2014 poster prize sponsored by Nature Publishing Group and the SMI consisting of $200 and 1 year of membership in the SMI.

Congratulations Isabella and Lars!


By |October 13th, 2014|Categories: 2014, News|Tags: |0 Comments

SMI’s First President Awarded for Service at UAB

SMI’s first president was Jiri Mestecky, MD, PhD, serving from 1987-1989 has spent the past 45 years at UAB investigating the structure, biosynthesis and function of human and animal immunoglobuilin A (IgA) and immune responses. He also was among the first scientists to develop reliable assays for the measurement of mucosal HIV immune responses, […]

By |October 1st, 2014|Categories: 2014, News|Tags: |0 Comments